The Score by Kerry Kaya @KerryKayaWriter #TheScore @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks #boldwoodbloggers #crime #thriller #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review for The Score by Kerry Kaya is a gangland, crime thriller read that I adored.

Many thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of this fabulous story.

He did the crime…


Twenty years ago, Fletch avenged the gangland killing of his younger brother, Spencer and accepted his guilt. But his actions meant he had to leave his precious children, Austin and Kitty to fend for themselves. He thought they would be looked after…
Served his time…


Now a free man, Fletch returns to find his family in chaos, devastated by his prolonged incarceration. Kit is married to notorious gangster Rosco Taylor, while Austin seems hell-bent on doing everything he can to create a turf war.


Fletch knows he has to do something to get his kids under control, but he also knows that the seeds of this disaster were planted long ago by his own reckless actions.


Now Fletch is back and it’s time to settle the score.


Another gripping gangland read by Kerry Kaya. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Martina Cole, Heather Atkinson and Caz Finlay.

Purchase Link – HERE

MY REVIEW

If you are looking for a gangland crime thriller read then you really need to have a look at this book from Kerry Kaya. It has a very addictive brutal side as well as being very twisted.

Fletch has just been released from prison after 22 years. He is estranged from his son Austen and Daughter Kit, people have moved on and there are only a small few that Fletch can trust. Given his volatile nature, those closest to him are very nervous about telling the full details of what has occurred over the years.

Fletch is eager to get back in touch with his children, but they have moved on, he is a stranger to them, and they lead their own lives. Austen is an act now deal with the consequences later type of guy. This time however he has pushed his luck too far and a cat and mouse game ensues. Rather than keeping his head and dealing with the consequences, he relies on others to help him out.

The author has created such a fabulous storyline with some amazing characters, none of which are particularly nice or trustworthy for that matter. I liked the way the author laid this story out, introducing certain characters, allowing me to get to know them and then she threw in a twist. These were fabulous twists and kept me on my toes, it also meant the story keeps evolving in an almost real-time feel.

This is a gangland crime, therefore the details can be a little bit toe-curling at times. The language is in keeping with the genre, so do expect some heated exchanges between characters. This story is one of family and loyalty, of respect and trust and about trying to build familial bonds. It is an emotional roller coaster of a story and one that had me hooked from the very first page. A fabulous story that will appeal to readers who like a grittier gangland, crime thriller read and it is one I would definitely recommend.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kerry Kaya is the hugely popular author of Essex-based gritty gangland thrillers with strong family dynamics. She grew up on one of the largest council estates in the UK, where she sets her novels. She also works full-time in a busy maternity department for the NHS. She has signed a nine-book deal with Boldwood for both new and backlist titles. Her first book The Price will be published in July 2021.

Social Media Links – Facebook Twitter Bookbub

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour…

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

Fool’s Gold by Gillian Godden @GGodden #FoolsGold @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks #boldwoodbloggers #NetGalley #crime #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for Fool’s Gold by Gillian Godden. I read the first book in this series a couple of months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it so I was delighted to join the Blog Tour for this second book.

You can read my full review of the first book HERE

My huge thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of the book via NetGalley.

A new life…

With their wretched life in Liverpool behind them, Julie and Ralph Gold head to London for their next big break. Julie’s had enough of slumming it, she’s ready to quit their life of crime and go legit.


The same old game…
But it seems their reputation had beat them to it, and the underworld is already bubbling with news of the their arrival. And as much as Julie tries to go straight, the more people underestimate them and treat them like fools. And there is only so much Julie can take…


One last trick.
So when they are offered one final big job, Julie knows they should say no. It’s risky and could cost them everything they have. But it could also be their last chance to make it big.
And when fools rush in, the Golds take the spoils.


Read what happens next for Julie and Ralph Gold in another gripping story by Gillian Godden.


Purchase Link – HERE

MY REVIEW

I read the first book in this series, Gold Digger, earlier this year and I loved it. While it did take me a few pages to get back up to speed with the main characters, I soon found myself immersed in the shady world of Ralph Gold and Julie.

Ralph has made the commitment and asked Julie to marry him. If you have read the first book you will know the background to these two characters, neither has had the best of life but they are gradually getting there. Let us say they are not exactly legit and in some ways, it adds to the appeal of the characters given their backgrounds. The author has taken two characters, thrown enough bad stuff at them, and yet they have found each other and are planning for the future.

Ther plans involve Julie organising a wedding, setting up legit business premises and also working with Ralph and also taking part in a heist that is due to happen just before they get married. Yes, just a normal day for this couple!

This was such a welcome return to two fabulous characters and I adored getting back up to speed with them. Ralph has a more influential role with his Italian crime boss. There is a lot of respect between them, but there is something that is being held back. While Ralph trusts Don Carlos completely, Julie is still in the getting to know his stage, and like most people, she doesn’t completely trust him. Especially when he holds the reins for this latest huge job that could set the Golds up for life.

I do like the contrast between Ralph and Julie, she is bold, brassy, opinionated and I think she is brilliant. Ralph is more dark and brooding, but together they make a glamourous couple. Weaving the elements of their past stories in with their current and future lives makes for a very addictive read.

This is one that like a gangland thriller story, there is some humour between the characters and also some dodgy characters. It is not an overly dark story, but there are obvious dark moments. It is twisted and just a great read. With a bit of a teaser for the next book. It is one I would definitely recommend. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Gillian Godden is a brilliantly reviewed writer of gangland fiction as well as a full-time NHS Key Worker in Hull. She lived in London for over thirty years, where she sets her thrillers, and during this time worked in various stripper pubs and venues which have inspired her stories.


Social Media Links- Facebook TwitterInstagram

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour…

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx