The Moscow Whisper by Michael Jenkins #TheMoscowWhisper @FailsafeQuery @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours #thriller #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for The Moscow Whisper by Michael Jenkins. This is the 3rd book in this series and if you like spy and espionage books you are going to get on really well with this one. It is a cracking read. My thanks to Emma at damppebbles blog tours for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of this fabulous book.

Let me show you what it’s all about…

‘Sometimes you have to enter the death zone to save the innocent.’

A top-secret clique of former spies meet for dinner to hatch a plan to murder a competitor, not knowing that they are under surveillance from a covert arm of British Intelligence. Hours later, with bodies strewn across a terrace, a piece of secret intelligence reveals an international plot of colossal magnitude.

For disgraced agent Sean Richardson, this is the beginning of a deniable mission to infiltrate and disrupt a group of Russian mercenaries who are working clandestinely to take over a nation state.

Acting covertly as an illicit arms trafficker, Sean is dropped into a deadly cauldron of terrorism and high-tech weaponry that will take a nation down. As the bullets fly and the chaos rains in, can Sean take down the merchants of death…or has he finally met his match?

The third in a set of spy thrillers that have been expertly crafted with stunning plot lines, magnificent locations, and twists that leave you gasping for air. Perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancy, and Scott Mariani. 

Purchase Links = Amazon UK (this is an affiliate link) Amazon US

This is the third book in the Sean Richardson series and, boy oh boy was it a cracking read. While the title gives the impression of it being set in Moscow, it is actually Russian mercenaries and arms dealers who provide the Moscow link.

This is an absolute cracker of a read and I have to say I feel for Sean as the author really does put him through his paces. Sean is an off the books operative for an exclusive group. Plausible deniability being something that is essential, but it doesn’t mean that Sean is working alone.

In this mission, he has help from old friends, but as this is the world of spies, double agents, rumours and lies, there is always a doubt as to who can be trusted. Money and power lead to corruption and this leads to sold secrets, backhanders and the like.

This is such a fast-paced book that is action-packed from start to finish. Sean is an excellent character and is teamed up once again with Jack, and an American agent Laura. I just can’t help but like Sean and I still do have my doubts about the other two, there is just something about those who make the decisions that leaves an uneasy feeling. Or maybe I am always backing the underdog, and this seems to be Sean’s default setting.

There are some other great characters in this story and I love some of their names, well nicknames. They add a good deal of variety and some have a very unique skill set to boot.

The details that the author brings to this story is so good, tactics and weaponry are just the tip of the ice-berg. When you read the authors bio you can see where his own knowledge adds a massive extra to the storytelling.

This is such an excellent read, fast, action-packed, intense thriller. For me, this book just has it all and I would highly recommend it.

I started climbing at 13, survived being lost in Snowdonia at 14, nearly drowned at 15, and then joined the Army at 16. Risk and adventure was built into my DNA and I feel very fortunate to have served the majority of my working career as an intelligence officer within Defence Intelligence, and as an explosive ordnance disposal officer and military surveyor within the Corps of Royal Engineers. 

I was privileged to serve for twenty-eight years in the British Army as a soldier and officer, rising through the ranks to complete my service as a major. I served across the globe on numerous military operations as well as extensive travel and adventure on many major mountaineering and exploration expeditions that I led or was involved in.

I was awarded the Geographic Medal by the Royal Geographical Society for mountain exploration in 2003 and served on the screening committee of the Mount Everest Foundation charity for many years. It was humbling after so many years of service when I was awarded the MBE for services to counter-terrorism in 2007.

Follow Michael on – TwitterFacebook or visit his Website

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

The Kompromat Kill by Michael Jenkins #TheKompromatKill @FailsafeQuery @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours #Bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for The Kompromat Kill by Michael Jenkins. My huge thanks to Emma at damppebbles Tours for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of this book.

Let me show you what it is all about…

‘They were preparing for decades – now it’s time to take them down……’

A DIPLOMAT VANISHES
A BOMB DISPOSAL EXPERT GOES ROGUE

Hiding overseas with a price on his head, Sean Richardson is tasked to lead a deniable operation to hunt down and recruit an international model and spy. Moving across Asia Minor and Europe, Sean embarks on a dangerous journey tracking an Iranian spy ring who hold the keys to a set of consequences the British Intelligence Services would rather not entertain.

As Sean investigates deeper, he uncovers dark secrets from his past and a complex web of espionage spun from the hand of a global master spy. As he inches closer to the truth, the rules of the game change – and the nerve-wracking fate of many lives sits in his hands…….……..

Purchase links – Amazon UK OR US

This is the second book in the Sean Richardson series, and it works well as a stand-alone because I have not read the first. There is enough detail given for me to get to know the character and start to understand what makes him tick. There are also references to what I am assuming is mentioned in the previous book.

So what is The Kompromat Kill? Well, it is a spy thriller that I found very enjoyable to read. Now this book is quite heavy on the detail and I will say that at times I did find it a bit too detailed, but to be fair that was the only niggle I did have. As for the story, well if you are into secret agents, double agents, secret departments of governments, rogue agents, and also corruption, power, secrets, espionage and deception then this will be right up your street.

Sean is brought into the fold to follow the trail of a possible terrorist attack. His target is an old acquaintance who screwed with his head in a big way when he was vulnerable. He is tasked with discov3ering what he can so that the Uk and US can counter whatever is planned.

While he is in the midst of his mission he is delivered a bombshell and could compromise his end objective. As he gradually deals with that yet another shock is delivered. Now, Sean is reeling and trying to keep his head in the game and not be swayed. Luckily he has those around him who can offer the support he needs without asking too many questions. With very few people who can be trusted, he needs this support.

I like Sean as a character, he is tough as nails but there is also a vulnerability to him that is alluded to, and this is where I think having the read the first book would have been good. It may have possibly given me more details on his mates and those who he could trust.

Now I did mention this book having a lot of detail, at times it was really helpful and it helped to explain past events, but there were also times when I was just too impatient and wanted to get on with the story, basically I wanted to know what happened next.

I did enjoy this story a lot, it had an old school espionage thriller feel to it with a modern setting, up to date cyber and tech stuff was mentioned and as you probably gather from this sentence, some of it went over my head! But as a reader I found that worked well in the context of the story.

I am looking forward to the next book in the series and to discover what predicaments Sean is placed in again. The Kompromat Kill is ideal for readers who like espionage and spy thriller and it is one I would recommend.

I started climbing at 13, survived being lost in Snowdonia at 14, nearly drowned at 15, and then joined the Army at 16. Risk and adventure was built into my DNA and I feel very fortunate to have served the majority of my working career as an intelligence officer within Defence Intelligence, and as an explosive ordnance disposal officer and military surveyor within the Corps of Royal Engineers. 

I was privileged to serve for twenty-eight years in the British Army as a soldier and officer, rising through the ranks to complete my service as a major. I served across the globe on numerous military operations as well as extensive travel and adventure on many major mountaineering and exploration expeditions that I led or was involved in.

I was awarded the Geographic Medal by the Royal Geographical Society for mountain exploration in 2003 and served on the screening committee of the Mount Everest Foundation charity for many years. It was humbling after so many years of service when I was awarded the MBE for services to counter-terrorism in 2007.

The Failsafe Query is my debut novel, with The Kompromat Kill, my second.  

Social Media links – Twitter Facebook Website

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour…

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx