The Note by Andrew Barrett @AndrewBarrettUK @sarahhardy681 @Bloodhoundbook

35304534_10155634094126623_3265394834067685376_n

I am delighted to be sharing my thought today on “The Note” by Andrew Barrett as part of the blog blitz with Sarah Hardy at Bloodhound Books. My thanks to Sarah and the author for my spot on the tour and my e-copy of the book. You can buy this book at Amazon UK

Synopsis:

A thrilling novella introducing Eddie Collins, CSI

Have you ever had that feeling of being watched but when you turn around no ones there?

I have.

It was raining, and I was working a murder scene around midnight when that prickle ran up my spine. If I’d listened to that feeling, if I’d thought back to my past, maybe I could have prevented the terror that was to come.

Back at the office, I found a death threat on my desk.

I had no idea who sent it or why they wanted to kill me.

But I was about to find out.

I’m Eddie Collins, a CSI, and this is my story.

Andrew Barrett is the best-selling author of The End of Lies. This novella serves as a thrilling introduction to his Eddie Collins Series. It will appeal to fans of authors like Ian Rankin, Robert Bryndza and Kathy Reichs.

My Thoughts:

This is a novella that is told from the perspective of Eddie Collins and we meet him as he is at a crime scene.

Being a short story the author has managed to pack a real punch. This is another new to me author and it is great to read a book that is the start of a new series.

So impressions for me on this novella was that Eddies is intense, I mean really intense with his work ethic as a police officer tries to hurry Eddie up. A crime scene has to be preserved and all evidence to be collected and this is exactly what Eddie does. He takes no nonsense and comes across as also quite angry.

Now Eddie is still an enigma for me, a novella doesn’t give you more that a snap shot of a character, I have mentioned my first impressions of him but also as I read the book I did discover something else. He is not really a people person, he keeps to himself at work, doesn’t seem to mix with others and lives in an isolated area. This has really piqued my interest as to how this character is going to pan out in a future series, he seems dark, focused, moody and also a professional hmmmmm i am intrigued.

The plot moves along quickly, as you would expect for this short format, but does have quite a few interesting elements that definitely kept me hooked.

This is a great introduction for a new series that has left me wanting more. I owuld recommend this to readers who like their crime based on a CSI perspective. One I would definitely recommend.

About the Author:

download

Biography

Do you like your crime thrillers to have a forensic element that adds to the realism? Do you like your lead character to be someone intense and unafraid to take on authority?

Andrew writes precisely that kind of crime thriller, and has done since 1996, about the same time he became a CSI in Yorkshire.

He doesn’t write formulaic fiction; each story is hand-crafted to give you a unique flavour of what CSIs encounter in real life – and as a practising CSI, he should know what it’s like out there. His thrillers live inside the police domain, but predominantly feature CSIs (or SOCOs as they used to known).

Here’s your chance to walk alongside SOCO Roger Conniston and CSI Eddie Collins as they do battle with the criminals that you lock your doors to keep out, fighting those whose crimes make you shudder.

This is as real as it gets without getting your hands bloody.

Find out more about him at https://www.andrewbarrett.co.uk where you can sign up for his newsletter and claim your free starter library.

See what other think by following the tour

B L O G B L I T Z (4).jpg

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

After He’s Gone by Jane Isaac @JaneIsaacAuthor : #BookReview

afterhesgone-isaac-ebookweb.jpg

I am delighted to be sharing my thoughts on “After He’s Gone” by Jane Isaac as part of her blog tour. I do have a very special thank you for the fabulous Abby Slater @annebonnybook for passing my name to Jane as I might be interested in reading this book. If you would like to buy a copy of After He’s Gone you can get one from Amazon UK

Synopsis:

‘A refreshing female protagonist with guts and a heart…I was gripped.’- Ruth Dugdall ‘The safety catch on the Glock snapped as it was released. Her stomach curdled as she watched the face of death stretch and curve. Listened to the words drip from his mouth, ‘Right. Let’s begin, shall we?’ You think you know him. Until he’s dead. When Cameron Swift is gunned down outside his family home, DC Beth Chamberlain is appointed Family Liaison Officer: a dual role that requires her to support the family, and also investigate them. As the case unfolds and the body count climbs, Beth discovers that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has secrets. Even the dead…

My Thoughts:

The story begins with being held at gun point! That got me straight away, nothing better than starting off with danger. Then I was taken back to the lead up to this point and  to back to the beginning to speak. It was in the story that I met DC Beth Chamberlain and the team and her role as the Family Liaison Officer.

The author didn’t hang about starting this story. I do tend to worry when a story starts with a bang ( no pun intended, well maybe a little bit), can the author match the dramatic start and keep me interested ? Well maybe I worry too much as the author definitely had me hooked right the way through. It was caught within the story and followed the wonderful character that is Beth as she makes her way through the investigation.

Beth is a tenacious character, especially when something doesn’t quite sit right, she lets the information sit and mulls it over while some of her colleagues dismiss them as unimportant. I like this route as you get to realise more about her character. She also comes across as being a little bit intimidated by some of the other “brighter stars” in the team, and while I did get the impression that she is not seen as much by others she definitely made an impression on me.

The story is not just about the investigation, there are several others going on and around as well and these have been cleverly woven in and around the main one. The suspense that builds has been done very well indeed. There are enough devious little moments that caught me out as I was taken deeper in. And that is all I am saying about the plot.

This is a book that is paced well to the story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was pleased to see in the authors notes that another book will follow in the series later this year, it will be great to see how Beth is developed as a character and also to learn more about her. I would definitely recommend this to readers of crime, thriller and suspense books and who are looking to start a new series.

Abut the Author:

ji author picJane Isaac is married to a serving detective (very helpful for research!). They live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter, and dog, Bollo. Jane’s debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.’

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by E-thriller.com and winner of ‘Noveltunity book club selection – May 2014′.

Jane’ s sixth novel, After He’s Gone, features Family Liaison Officer, DC Beth Chamberlain and will be released in June 2018. The second Beth Chamberlain novel will follow later in 2018.

Jane loves to hear from readers and writers. You can reach her via her website at www.janeisaac.co.uk

Sign up to her book club http://eepurl.com/1a2uT for book recommendations and details of new releases, events and giveaways.

See what others think by following the tour

Jane Isaac

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or a share would be amazing 🙂 xx