The Silent Friend by Diane Jeffrey #TheSilentFriend @dianefjeffrey @HQstories @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours #crimethriller #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for The Silent Friend by Diane Jeffrey. This was a fabulous crime thriller read that did have a great psychological aspect to it.

My huge thanks to Emma at #dammppebblesblogtour for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of this brilliant read.

I love this cover! As I have read this book I can see how well it works for the story inside.

Tragedy brought them together. The truth will tear them apart. 

It’s supposed to be Laura’s dream holiday: a trip to France with a group of friends to see their favourite band play live. But the holiday quickly turns to disaster, and Laura is left haunted by terrifying images from the worst night of her life. 

When Laura finds an online support group for victims like her, she’s not convinced it will help. But when Sandrine replies to her message, she seems to understand what Laura’s going through, in a way that no one else can. 

Soon, Laura and Sandrine are sharing their deepest thoughts and feelings with each other. But one of them has a terrible secret – she isn’t who she says she is. And once the twisted truth is revealed, there’s no going back… 

PURCHASE LINKS – Amazon UK or US Kobo Google Apple Waterstones Hive

My Review…


I love it when you get a book that gives very little away in the synopsis. It’s like going in blind and for The Silent Friend, this was perfect. I got a story that pulled me in very quickly and led me on a journey that I didn’t expect at all.

Given the slim synopsis, my review will also be a bit on the vague side. The story is told from two perspectives. One from a woman who has lost two of her friends and the other from a mother. The two characters share their experiences of an event that happens in France. Both are victims. Both are suffering. Both feel guilty.

The story is told over a timeline that is shown over the course of a few months before the event, the event itself and then onwards. It gives the thoughts and feeling of both women and of those who are in immediate contact with them. This keeps the character list small and gives a more intimate account.

There is a psychological aspect to this, but not the usual crime thriller one. Yes, a crime was committed, but it is the psychological impact that the women deal with that becomes the major thread of the story for me. The author very craftily draws the reader into the lives of the women and then delivers some wonderful heart-stopping moments. Things suddenly linked and left me shocked as I didn’t really see them coming.

This was such an addictive read. From initially not really knowing what story was going to unfold I soon found myself flying through this. The author wove a story that is full of intrigue but from different perspectives. It gives an idea of what people go through after a traumatic event and how they cope with living afterwards.

I loved this story so much. It had me with my heart in my mouth at times and also with the odd tear in my eye as the full picture was brought out. This is one for readers who like a crime mystery read and it is one I would definitely recommend. 

About the Author…

Diane Jeffrey is a USA Today bestselling author. 

 
She grew up in North Devon and Northern Ireland. She now lives in Lyon, France, with her husband and their three children, Labrador and cat. 

 
Diane’s is the author of four psychological thrillers, all of which were Kindle bestsellers in the UK, the USA, Canada and Australia. 

 
THE GUILTY MOTHER, Diane’s third book, was a USA Today bestseller and spent several weeks in the top 100 Kindle books in the UK. 

 
Her latest psychological thriller, THE SILENT FRIEND, is set in Belfast and Lyon. It was published in ebook in November 2020 with the paperback and audiobook to follow in 2021. 

 
She is currently working on her fifth psychological thriller. 

 
Diane is an English teacher. When she’s not working or writing, she likes swimming, running and reading. She loves chocolate, beer and holidays. 

 
Above all, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends. 

 
Author website: http://www.dianejeffrey.com 
Readers can also follow Diane on – Twitter FacebookWebsite Instagram

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour…

Many thanks for reading my post a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner #BookReview

Lies Between Us

I am delighted to be sharing my thoughts on Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner. Ronnie is a well known and supportive lady in the Book Blogging Community and now she is a Published Author wohooo… Lies Between Us is published by HQ Digital and available as an eBook and audiobook with a paperback due out on 13th December.

When I first saw a post about being part of the Blog Tour for this book I jumped at the chance and so did many others, when I say many others I actually mean many, many, many others… 72 Book Bloggers !!!

Synopsis:

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell.
YOU CAN PURCHASE A COPY FROM – Amazon UKGoogle PlayKoboitunes

My Thoughts:

John, Maisie and Miller have a connection they are as of yet unaware of in this psychological, mind-twisting thriller. The story is told from each characters own point of view and in their own timeline.

If you like psychological thrillers then you really do need to give this a read. Each character has their own story and it gave me the chance to get to know them, their friends and family. I have mentioned previously that I like this style of writing as it gives the chance to get inside the thoughts and emotions of the characters, though there are times when this can really give you the creeps.

The characters are very different to each other and also their role in the story, as I read I found that each character had its own set of emotions that ranged from guilt, loss, obsession, grief to name a few. Then the author adds in a good dose of manipulation and an obsessive tendency to give a real page turner of a read.

The psychological aspect of this book was clever and it gave me a twisted reading journey and it took a route that I did not expect. When I thought I was getting to the truth and working things out, this author through a curveball… had me completely hoodwinked.

The story itself… well I’m giving you nothing on it. There are little clues scattered throughout and it’s not until the author starts pulling them together that you start to see the connection.

The story took me a few pages to get into, my fault really as I didn’t pay enough attention to the chapter headings… each chapter has their own timeline, I would advise paying attention to this, as soon as I realised this I found the story much better to gel with.

This is a good solid debut novel from an author that I think, has got her foot well and truly on the ladder to higher things. A psychological thriller that had me guessing, twists, suspense and a great story. One I would definitely recommend.

About the Author:

Author Photo 2.jpg

Ronnie Turner grew up in Cornwall, the youngest in a large family. At an early age, she discovered a love of literature and dreamed of being a published author. Ronnie now lives in Dorset with her family and three dogs. In her spare time, she reviews books on her blog and enjoys long walks on the coast. She is currently working on her second novel.

Ronnie’s debut novel, Lies Between Us, will be published by HQ Digital in October 2018.

You can follow Ronnie on –

TwitterFacebookInstagramBlogGoodreads Author Page

See what other Book Bloggers think by following the tour, this is the 1st weeks list…

LiesBetweenUs_BlogTourBanner1

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or a share would be amazing 🙂 xx

#BookReview : Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris @BAParisAuthor #BringMeBack @HQstories @NetGalley

51kF+0lU94L._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

I have a wonderful suspense today on my blog “Bring Me Back” by B A Paris.  This is due for publication on 8th March 2018 by HQ Stories and available in various formats. Pre-order link HERE for Amazon UK

Synopsis:

The million-copy bestselling author returns with a breathtaking thriller – available to pre-order now

‘We’re in a new Golden Age of suspense writing now, because of amazing books like Bring Me Back, and I for one am loving it’ Lee Child

The Disappearance
Twelve years ago Finn’s girlfriend disappeared.

The Suspicion
He told the police the truth about that night.
Just not quite the whole truth.

The Fear
Now Finn has moved on.
But his past won’t stay buried…

My Thoughts:

On their way back from a holiday in France to their home in UK a couple stop at a picnic stop, she remains in the car while he grabs supplies.  When he return to the car she is missing, no sign of her anywhere.  Now 12 years later we catch up with him, he has sort of moved on and is due to get married.  She knows some of the details of the events in his past but begins to get concerned when items start to turn up at their home.  What is the significance and why are they arriving now?

This is going to be such a vague “My Thoughts” post.  No names, no details, no chance of spoiling the plot.  To reveal anything would be to revealing one of the many threads that have been woven into this story.  Set as a time slip as the reader is taken through events that occurred 12 years ago and also present day. It has three parts to the story and each part is deals with different sections in a definitive way.  As you move through these sections you are drawn deeper into the story, the suspense continually builds and the red herrings have been superbly placed to lead you down the wrong thought path.

This is a suspense filled psychological thriller and mystery that moves quickly and definitely accelerates, I found myself almost racing through this story to find out the end and also having to slow my reading in the eagerness to get the truth.  This story will almost certainly have you wondering who is telling the truth and who can be trusted. As you progress you will wonder who played what part if any in the mystery element of this book.

I loved this book and found myself quickly caught up and engrossed.  This is a book I would highly recommend to readers who like their thrillers full of suspense and mystery that are quick in their pace and addictive reading.

About the Author:

A1G5P+CAU6L._SY200_  B A Paris is the internationally bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown. Having sold over one million copies in the UK alone, she is a New York Times bestseller as well as a number one bestseller on Amazon and iBooks. Her books have sold in 37 territories around the world. Having lived in France for many years, she recently moved back to the UK. She has five daughters.
Her third novel, Bring Me Back is out in March 2018.
Follow B A on Twitter

Many thanks for reading my post, if you liked please give a share.  Or grab a copy of this book HERE and let me know what you think 🙂 xx