The April Dead by Alan Parks @AlanJParks @blackthornbks @RandomTTours #HarryMcCoy #crime #bookreview

I am delighted to share my thoughts today on The April Dead by Alan Parks. I read and reviewed his previous book earlier this month and this 4th book in the series is just as brilliant. My thanks to Anne at Random Things Tours for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my copy of the book from the publisher Black Thorn Books.

The fourth dark and gripping Harry McCoy thriller from the most exciting new voice in Scottish noir

NO ONE WILL FORGET . . .


In a grimy flat in Glasgow, a homemade bomb explodes, leaving few remains to identify its maker. Detective Harry McCoy knows in his gut that there’ll be more to follow. The hunt for a missing sailor from the local US naval base leads him to the secretive group behind the bomb, and their disturbing, dominating leader.


On top of that, McCoy thinks he’s doing an old friend a favour when he passes on a warning, but instead he’s pulled into a vicious gang feud. And in the meantime, there’s word another bigger explosion is coming Glasgow’s way – so if the city is to survive, it’ll take everything McCoy’s got . . .

My Review…

What a fabulously gritty crime thriller book The April Dead is. I haven’t read the first two books in the series but I did read the third and loved it.

Set in 1974 Glasgow, the author transports the reader back to a time where not all police are on the right side of the law. Some are corrupt and some walk a very fine line. One fine line walker is Harry McCoy, he isn’t exactly a dirty copper taking backhanders, but he does stray into grey areas.

A missing American man and bombs exploding is just the tip of the iceberg for McCoy. His colleague Wattie is trying to juggle fatherhood and the pressure of leading a case. While McCoy doesn’t exactly have the time to help out Wattie, he does manage to pep-talk him.

The author really does keep the reader in the era of the story, with mentions of music and also the fact that smoking is done in every and all buildings. Add to this the murky underworld and a new threat with the bombs, McCoy really does have his work cut out.

This story is one that has a really dark side to it. Historic crimes and atrocities are explained with enough detail to make your skin crawl. I do think the author got the balance right with his descriptions and explanations.

This is a tough gritty inner-city crime thriller read, it dips its toes into gangland and touches on the historic. One for readers who like their crime to be more thriller than mystery, although the mysteries of the subplots are eventually solved. Another brilliant read and it confirms that this is an author who I will definitely be reading in the future. I would definitely recommend this one.

About the Author…

Alan Parks has worked in the music industry for over twenty years. His debut novel Bloody January was shortlisted for the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière. He lives and works in Glasgow.

Bloody January (Book 1)
February’s Son (Book 2)
Bobby March Will Live Forever (Book 3)
The April Dead (Book 4 )

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour…

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

Bobby March Will Live Forever by Alan Parks @AlanJParks @blackthornbks @RandomTTours #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for Bobby March Will Live Forever by Alan Parks. My huge thanks to Anne at Random Things Tours for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my copy of this fabulous book from Black Thorn Books.

Harry McCoy investigates the suspicious overdose of a rock legend and the disappearance of a young girl in this gripping thriller

WHO IS TO BLAME WHEN NO ONE IS INNOCENT?

There’s a heatwave in Glasgow and the drugs trade is booming. The whole force is searching for missing thirteen-year-old Alice Kelly. All except Harry McCoy, who has been taken off the case after a run-in with the boss, and is instead sent alone to investigate the death of rock-star Bobby March, who has just overdosed in the Royal Stuart hotel.

The papers want blood. The force wants results. McCoy has a hunch. But does he have enough time?

  • Themes include inner-city poverty, gang warfare, the rise and fall of rock & roll stardom, illegal narcotics distribution and the growth of the IRA, seen through the eyes of his good-cop-in-a-gray-world, Detective Harry McCoy.
  • Will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Denise Mina, Peter May, William McIlvanney and
    Val McDermid, as well as TV series such as Idris Elba’s Luther

My Review…

This is the 3rd book in the Harry McCoy series and the first time I have read a book by this author. This book does work really well as a stand-alone, but I do wish I had read the previous 2 books. I have got them on order, so it kind of shows how much I enjoyed Bobby March Will Live Forever!

So, let’s start with the basics. This is a police procedural set in Glasgow during the early 70s. McCoy is a DI who in theory should be heading the investigation for a missing girl but instead has been pushed out to investigate other crimes being committed. The reason for him being pushed out, well let’s call it a rather nasty power-hungry DI. The reasons for the animosity are made clear.

As this series focuses on McCoy, it is his cases that take a more prominent relevance in the story. While Bobby Fisher is mentioned in the title, and McCoy does investigate, the story is secondary in some respects to all the other things that are going on. The author does such a great job of weaving various threads of various subplots into a really addictive story.

The other great thing the author achieved int his story was really encompassing the era of the story and of the region of its setting. Giving an atmospheric, smoky, crime-ridden world where the line between bent and straight is fine. I do like the fact that he used the local vernacular during conversations, again it helps to cement the area well in the reader.

This is a book that has a noirish feel to it, atmospheric with great characters that I soon either liked or loathed. Although it is a police procedural it didn’t always feel like it as there were a few “off the books” things going on as well. I know, another vague-ish review but I really don’t want to give anything away.

This is a cracking read and I cannot wait for my first two books in the series to arrive. I already have the 4th book sat waiting to be read as well!

Brilliant characters, cracking storyline and one that I would definitely recommend if you like crime and thriller reads that have a police presence with some dodgy dealers then this is a series you want to take a serious look at.

About the Author…

Alan Parks has worked in the music industry for over twenty years. His debut novel Bloody January was shortlisted for the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière. He lives and works in Glasgow.

Bobby March Will Live Forever is the third Harry McCoy thriller.

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx