The Gin Sisters Promise by Faith Hogan @GerHogan @AriaFiction #contemporaryfiction #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for The Gin Sisters Promise by Faith Hogan. I adore this author’s books, although I have not yet read them all, and this latest one is absolutely gorgeous.

My huge thanks to Ayo at Aria Fiction, which is a digital imprint of Head of Zeus for my wonderful copy of this book.

Three estranged sisters. Six months to come back together.

When Georgie, Iris and Nola’s mother died and their father disappeared into his grief, the sisters made a pact: they would always be there for one another, no matter what.

Now, decades later, they haven’t spoken for years and can barely stand to be in the same room. As his health declines, their father comes up with a plan to bring them back to one another. In his will, he states that before they can claim their inheritance, they must spend six months living together in their childhood home in the village of Ballycove, Ireland, and try to repair their broken relationships.

As the months progress, old resentments boil over, new secrets threaten to come out and each sister must decide what matters more: their pride, or their family. Can they overcome their past and find a way to love each other once more?

Bestselling Irish writer Faith Hogan’s The Gin Sisters’ Promise is an emotional, uplifting story about forgiveness, second chances and the importance of family, for fans of Sheila O’Flanagan, Heidi Swain and Liz Fenwick.

PURCHASE LINK

MY REVIEW

I do adore this author and the books she writes, I will say I have not read them all. The ones I have read have been fabulous and this latest one is no exception.

The Gin Sisters’ Promise is about three sisters. Georgie, Iris and Nola. Once close but now estranged. They live different lives and each one has a gripe about the other. Not happy in their own lives and argumentative and hurtful when brought together.

When their father dies the girls have no choice but to come together for the funeral and the reading of the will. Their father had been successful and had built up a nice portfolio. He has arranged that the three siblings must try to work together and try to rebuild some sort of friendship. This is going to be tough, but he obviously hoped that it was his last chance to do something for the girls.

Each of the sisters has her own life, lifestyle and priorities. Each is very different. So when they have to come and live together for 6 months in their old family home they have no choice but to try and get along. Not easy, and not without its troubles.

The author has created three wonderful characters in the sisters. Oh my goodness each is headstrong and they have an opinion. It is only a matter of time when a barb or a remark makes those opinions known. Having the three together is like waiting for a spark to ignite and the author creates such a brilliant tense vibe as I was waiting for the bang.

While the sisters are living together it is time for them to be honest with each other. I gradually realised that they cannot even be honest with themselves so how on earth are they going, to be honest with each other. They are like rivals and they tiptoe around the issues, little warning shots are frequent though.

The author has created a gorgeous story, it has sadness as the girls deal with grief, but it is a refreshing read though. Even though there is a lot of animosity between the women, there is the hope that they can resolve their issues with each other.

All the way through this book I kept hoping for a good outcome, not only because they are sisters but also for each of them as individuals. It’s a chance to restart their wonderful childhood relationship as adults and make a fresh start of their lives. The thing is can they get over their own stubbornness and see the bigger picture. Can they admit to their own problems and reveal their own insecurities. Well, you are going to have to read the book to find out, aren’t you!

If you have read any of this authors’ books before, then you are going to be a bit like me. You will pick the book up and read it without reading the synopsis, as soon as I see this author’s name I have to read her newest book, it’s as simple as that.

This is one for those who love contemporary fiction, of families and rivalries that are caught up with a few home truths and confronting your innermost thoughts. A fabulous book and a brilliant one-sitting read. It is one I would definitely recommend.

CHECK OUT THE OTHER STOPS ON THE TOUR…

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

2 thoughts on “The Gin Sisters Promise by Faith Hogan @GerHogan @AriaFiction #contemporaryfiction #bookreview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.