A Scottish Highland Surprise by Julie Shackman @G13Julie @rararesources #contemporaryfiction #romance #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for A Scottish Highland Surprise by Julie Shackman. I have read a couple of books by this author and have enjoyed them so when I saw this one I knew I wanted to read it.

My huge thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of this fabulous book

Discover the secrets and surprises that the scenic Scottish town of Briar Glen has to offer…
When wedding planner Sophie Harkness refuses to move a friend’s wedding to accommodate a spoilt bridezilla, she finds herself out of a job. That is until she discovers her late grandma has purchased a local shop for her in the pretty Scottish town of Briar Glen.
Surprised and delighted, Sophie opens her own porcelain shop in honour of her grandmother. But when an unusual tea set is left with Sophie, along with a mysterious letter, she can’t help but be intrigued by the story behind the antique.
And when the handsome but aloof art critic Xander North comes knocking on her door, Sophie is about to find out the true colourful past of her latest treasure.
The perfect feel-good romance for fans of Jo Thomas, Katie Fforde and Trisha Ashley.

Purchase Links – AMAZON – UK or US

MY REVIEW

This was such a delightful read and one, that when I started I could not put it down. It was definitely a case of “just one more chapter then I’ll go to bed!”.

There is only so much that wedding planner Sophie can deal with when it comes to demanding brides. So from wedding planner to shop owner in a few days is not something she had envisioned. The shop has already been bought, she has some items that will give her the money to buy her stock and get things ready. The downside is that this is the final wish of her grandmother.

The shop is one that sounds just amazing and I will admit not the first thing that I would think of if I have left this opportunity. Luckily the author knows what readers like and so a shop that sells tea sets and crockery was the focus. Tea is something I and my husband drink a lot of, we are the “dunk the bag in the mug” drinkers, but I do drag the old pot and cosy out in the winter so it can sit by the fire to keep warm and we can have a second stewed brew. After reading this book I know want a nice teapot to go with my china and porcelain teacups and saucers.

The teapots and the history of some of the more collectable ones were really interesting and I admit that the author really sold me on this being the best use for the shop that Sophie has taken on. Now, this isn’t a straightforward story where Sophie gets the shop, sells the pots and things are great. Oh no, this is one that comes with mysteries, one of which accompanies a mysterious set from 1900 and how it came to be handed in at the shop. This is a brilliant storyline and one that kept popping in and out of the story along with the story of Sophies Gran.

If the mystery and the interesting information about the tea sets weren’t enough the author has also wound in a confusing time for Sophie with two male characters. Very chalk and chees these guys are. One comes across as aloof and cold, the other has that cheeky chap aura about him. How will they impact Sophie when she already has enough on her plate researching the mystery tea set and also trying to get her shop ready for opening! Well, you will just have to grab a copy to find out.

This was an adorable story and one that I really loved everything about it. It has mystery, romance, intrigue and gorgeous descriptions throughout. One for fans of contemporary fiction, mystery and romance. It is one I would definitely recommend. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Julie Shackman is a former journalist from Scotland, who has always wanted to write feel-good romance. As well as being an author, Julie also writes verses and captions for greetings card companies. Julie admits to having an obsession with stationery and handbags. She is married, has two sons and a Romanian rescue pup, who she named Cooper. A Scottish Highland Surprise is Julie’s sixth novel.

Social Media Links – Twitter Facebook Instagram

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx