The Cold Killer by Ross Greenwood @greenwoodross @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks #boldwoodbloggers #crime #policeprocedural #bookreview

I am delighted to share my review today for The Cold Killer by Ross Greenwood. This is the 4th book in the DI Barton series. This is an author whose books I will automatically read, they are brilliant and this latest book is no exception.

My huge thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on the Blog Tour and for arranging my e-copy of the book from Boldwood Books via NetGalley.

The Cold Killer


It’s hard to live when you think you deserve to die…
When a tired old inmate is found dead in his cell, the prison is obligated to investigate and so DI Barton attends. The men he interviews have been convicted of some of the worst things a human being can do, but it appears likely that the death was due to natural causes.
When the house of the dead man is burgled and that crime is followed by a suspicious fire, Barton desperately needs to speak to his widow, but she’s nowhere to be found.
In the space of twenty-four hours, everyone he wants to talk to has vanished. Then he receives some post which makes him believe he could be the next to disappear.
Barton’s investigation goes full circle, through a series of brutal murders, back to the prison, and all signs are pointing to the fact that he’s made a terrible mistake.
There’s a violent killer on the loose, who wants everyone to learn that some people deserve to die.
DI Barton is back as Ross Greenwood continues with his bestselling series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Ian Rankin.

Purchase Link – AMAZON

MY REVIEW

This is one of my favourite authors, he writes fabulous gritty crime thriller reads and The Cold Killer is the 4th book in the DI Barton series. This book can be read as a stand-alone, but like all series, they are better read in order.

DI Barton is called in to investigate the murder of an inmate, it looks at face value to be natural. But things don’t quite sit right especially when the victims home is also burgled. This is a case that just deepens and grows. It is one that isn’t pleasant given the nature of the crimes that those involved are in prison for. This makes for uncomfortable reading at times, but nothing is over dramatised or too detailed. It is part of the story and what a story this one was.

There are several characters in this story, and you soon get to know them if you haven’t read any of the books in the series. A lot is going on in this story as there are two distinct stories, one is from the police side of the book, the other is from the perspective of an unknown narrator. This adds so much intrigue to the story and had me wondering, guessing and second-guessing myself as to how things were going to work themselves out in the end.

This is a gritty story, it is fast-paced, it deals with some horrendous people and crimes, but is also very addictive reading. Although this is a police procedural, there are also details of the prison environment. This is something the author knows a lot about given his time working in a prison. This first-hand perspective is a great addition and even though this is a fictional book, it does come across with a certain amount of realism to it.

This is a book that kept me on my toes. I thought I had it sussed a couple of times, but I was way off the mark. Even when things did slot into place there was more to learn. There is also a more personal side to this story for DI Barton, and also some mentions of other colleagues, so it is not all crime thriller for Barton, there is also a family man that is seen.

This is a fast, gritty, crime, thriller police procedural that I adored. It is a series that just gets better and the author deals with some tough subjects. It is one I would definitely recommend. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ross Greenwood is the bestselling author of eight crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked every day with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.

Social Media Links – FacebookTwitter Instagram Bookbub Newsletter

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx