Girl With Secrets by Carol Rivers @carol_rivers @rararesources #GuestPost

I am delighted to share a post with you today from, Carol Rivers, the author of Girl With Secrets. I wish I had the time to read all the books I see and I know this is one that would be right up my street!

My thanks to Rachel at Rachels Random Resources for my spot on the Blog Tour and for organising wonderful Guest Post for me today to share with you all.

A coming of age war story and family saga full of romance, mystery and danger in London’s East End. From the Sunday Times and ebook bestselling author of the Lizzie Flowers series and A Wartime Christmas comes a gripping NEW coming-of-age saga about love, loyalties and secrets.



IN THE TURMOIL OF WAR, CAN SHE KEEP HER FAMILY TOGETHER?

‘Surely one of the best saga writers of her time’ – Rosie Clarke

1938, East London. Nine year old Daisy Purbright is a country girl at heart and together with beloved brother Bobby, they’ve enjoyed the endless freedoms of rural England.

But when her father gambles the family’s fortunes on a speculative investment in London’s docklands, Daisy and her family are swept up into the intrigue, danger and excitement.Desperately the Purbrights attempt to settle to a new life in the East End, but the whisperings of war grow louder.

Then, one late afternoon in September 1940, Adolf Hitler conducts a paralysing bombardment on London and war tightens its grip. Life changes dramatically and closely guarded secrets threaten the Purbrights’ happiness.

Can Daisy and her family survive one of the most fateful events of the 20th century?

Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes, Rosie Clarke and Dilly Court.

Purchase Links – Amazon UK US

Guest Post by Carol Rivers…

How Daisy became Daisy …

Have you ever wondered how authors bring their characters to life? There are many techniques and each author’s way is different. But for me, the first step is essential. I need to have a visual image of my character, similar to a photofit sketch similar to a police drawing. Google gives me this definition. “A facial composite is a graphical representation of one or more eyewitnesses’ memory of a face, as recorded by a composite artist.”

Well, I am the eyewitness and I’m fortunate enough to have an artist in the family – my husband. Right from the word go, he sketches out my description, in this case, fair hair, blue eyes, cheeky smile and a determined appearance. (Above left). I am always blown away by the end result and this time, my nine-year old heroine, Daisy Purbright, literally jumped off the page and into my hard drive!

Girl with Secrets is my most ambitious book yet, a culmination of thirty-five years writing and what a project it turned out to be! Daisy’s extraordinary wartime journey had me riveted. Thanks to the magic of my photofit Daisy, she became the character I had always wanted to write. She’s gutsy, precocious, self-centred, but deeply loyal. Luckily her faults become her attributes during one of the most terrifying events of the twentieth century, World War ll. I do hope she entertains you as much as she did me!

With love as always, Carol x

About the Author…

Mum and Dad were both East Enders who were born on the famous or should I say the then infamous Isle of Dogs. Their family were immigrants who travelled to the UK from Ireland and France, while others emigrated to America.

As a child I would listen to the adults spinning their colourful stories, as my cousins and I drank pop under the table.

I know the seeds of all my stories come from those far off times that feel like only yesterday. So I would like to say a big heartfelt thank you to all my family and ancestors wherever you are now … UK, Ireland, France or America, as you’ve handed down to me the magic and love of story telling.

Social Media Links – Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Website

Check out the other stops on the Blog Tour…

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.