My week In Books (w/e 14th July) #MeAndMyBooks

Hello once again to my weekly round up of bookishess. I have had a slower reading week as once again my concentration level has taken a dip. It is so annoying when this happens, but, if the concentration is not there then it can be forced. I have enjoyed the books I have read a huge amount but I am only able to read in short bursts.

I decided at the beginning of the month that I was due for a social media break and blogging break. So this post is for two weeks, but for my week off I didn’t really read anything or even listen to anything because of the concentration.

So let me show you what I have read…

First up is a book that I was on a Blog Tour for

Come Back For My by Heidi Perks is a fabulous and very atmospheric mystery read. More about the mystery that a crime thriller as such. A totally addictive and wonderful read that I adored from the very start.

Here is the Synopsis…

A shocking discovery. An island wrapped in secrets.You can bury the body, but the truth will always surface…

A tiny island community is stunned by the discovery of a long-buried body. For Stella Harvey, the news is doubly shocking, as the body is found in the garden of her childhood home. The home her family fled without explanation twenty-five years ago.

Now, questioning her past and desperate to unearth the truth, Stella returns to the Dorset island.


But she quickly finds that the community she left isn’t as welcoming as she remembers – and that people in it will go to any length to protect their secrets. But one thing rings true… You can’t bury the truth forever.

Fans of THE BAY, BROADCHURCH, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and Lisa Jewell’s THEN SHE WAS GONE will not be able to put this novel down.

You can find my full review HERE


Next up is another Blog Tour book

45997590

The Awakening Aten by Aiden K. Morrissey is a historical fiction with many historical facts incorporated into the story. It is a fabulous read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It is also the first book in a planned saga series. If you like ancient Egyptian fiction then I think you will really enjoy this one.

Here is the synopsis…

Book One of ‘The Aten’ Saga

The Awakening Aten envelops the reader in an Egypt of whispers and fears, of webs within webs, deceit upon deceit. Its themes of murder, intrigue, political and religious conflict, corruption, tomb robbing, war and executions are set against a background of fundamental ideological change. 

Ancient Egypt is seen through the eyes of two families; one royal, the other commoner. Yuya, whose tomb is in the Valley of the Kings, is a foreigner who rises from slavery to become Regent to an infant Pharaoh and thus, the most powerful man in the world’s wealthiest empire. His children and descendants will remain at the very heart of the country’s destiny. Kha is a tomb painter and builder who experiences both the despair of imprisonment and the horror of war. As Overseer of the King’s Works he restores the Great Sphinx, and inscribes the ‘Dream Stela’ placed between its paws, still visible today. Through tragic and deathly events his family and that of Yuya become entwined.

Review to follow.


My current read is for another Blog Tour, I know I said I was dropping back from them at the beginning of the year but I do seem to have picked a few up…!!!

32603079. sy475

Wanderers by Chuck Wendig… OMG I am loving this book so much, I am half way through it and I am addicted to it. It has been a while since I have read a dystopian/ sci fi and this one is hitting all the right notes for me.

Here is the synopsis…

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them–and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them–the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart–or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world. 

Review will follow.


I have a couple more Blog Tours to read for this month, and with the exception of one in August I have no more until september. This means I can try to read a few more of my #20 Books of Summer reads. I am up to number 4 at the moment so it will be interesting to see how close I get to my target.

Hopefully you will be able to see the images I have included, they kept disappearing while I was writing this post up. WordPress and its trickery or me and my fat fumbs… hmmm Im not sure… 😂😂


So, how about some non bookishness for you to wrap this post up with… Dogs, my two rogues just had their yearly shear and they were definitely due for it especailly as summer seems to have arrived….

Meet Billy with his before and after pose!

Meet Buster with his before and after pose!

They are both Springer / Cocker Spaniel crosses know as Billy Bony Bum and Buster Big Bum for obvious reasons! They are a great pair of characters and are inseperable, they are also cousins and we love them to bits 💖💖

Right that’s me done for another week, I look forward to seeing what everyone has been reading and I will see you next week for another Bookish catch up.

Take care and enjoy your reading folks 🙂 xx

3 thoughts on “My week In Books (w/e 14th July) #MeAndMyBooks

    • It’s so annoying when the slump hits, sometimes just having a break works for me. The dogs are so much cooler now they have had their haircut, they always look so different and younger!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.