The Feud by Amanda James @akjames61 @lifebookish @Bloodhoundbook #PublicationDay #review

I am absolutely delighted to be one of the Bloggers to help share in the Book Love for The Feud by Amanda James. My thanks to bot Amanda and Heather at Bloodhound Books for inviting me to take part and also sending me an e-copy.

The Feud is being published today, so…

I have been a fan of Amanda’s books for a while now and I have read quite a few. I have also been lucky enough to meet her and she is lovely.

So why don’t we have a look and see what The Feud is all about…

Matthew Trevelyar leaves his job in London to return to his Cornish roots in the village of St Agnes. After losing his wife to leukaemia, he wants to make a fresh start.Β 

His new life is going well until Matt returns to his cottage to discover a grim warning on his doorstop. The message is clear – Leave now and go back to London.

Not wanting to give up his new life, Matt eventually discovers that there has been a 200-year-old feud between his family, the Trevelyars, and another local family, the Penhallows.

When Matt learns that one of his ancestors burned down a barn belonging to the Penhallows,Β and that there were tragic consequences, he understands why his family name is mud. But why is Matt paying for the sins of his ancestors now? And is there more to the feud than meets the eye?

Amanda James is the bestselling author of the psychological thrillers Another MotherThe Cornish Retribution and Rip Current, as well as the heart-warming women’s fiction novel, The Calico Cat. The Feud is a suspenseful drama which will appeal to fans of authors like K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and Lucy 

A feud between two Cornish families has gone on for 200 years. The Trevelyar and Penhallow families have built up years of hatred and mistrust, though not every family member holds firm to the hereditary grudge as others do. So when Matt moves back to the village, he soon learns how deeply rooted The Feud runs.

There is such an underlying sense of malice throughout this story, it gives it such a suspenseful edge. Using the feud as the basis for the story, then adding and expanding on it makes it such a compelling read. The malice gradually increases as the story progresses and it made me wonder how far a person would actually go.

I loved the way this author took the feud to various extremes. She uses family members and friends like chess pieces and has a fabulous way of moving and manipulating them into place. I found friends were manipulated, the truth was distorted and twisted in this old vendetta. On Matt’s arrival in the village sparks off the revenge and family honour and it is just the tip of the iceberg as revenge turns in vengeance.

The pacing of the story is such a good fit for the plot, it sits very nicely with the characters and the story. I found it very easy to get caught up in as the author wove a dark and somewhat mysterious tale.

There are several things I have come to expect from this author based on previous books I have read. I have found she always delivers on a very compelling story-line, has interesting characters, atmospheric descriptions that work well with the characters and plot and at least a couple of good twists along the way. The Feud ticked all the boxes and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this dark and twisted story of revenge.

It’s one I would definitely recommend.

Amanda James has written since she was a child, but never imagined that her words would be published. Then in 2010, after many twists and turns, the dream of becoming a writer came true.

Amanda has written many short stories and has ten novels currently published. Her time travelling debut – A Stitch in Time was published in April of 2013 and has met with great success.

Amanda lives in Cornwall and is inspired every day by the beautiful coastline near her home. Five suspense/mystery novels are set there, Somewhere Beyond the Sea, Summer in Tintagel and the Behind the Lie – April 2017 pub – HQUK ( HarperCollins) 2018 Another Mother, and Rip Current – Bloodhound Books. The Calico Cat – family drama/coming-of-age out now with Bombshell/Bloodhound.

Amanda can usually be found playing on the beach with her family, or walking the cliff paths planning her next book.

Follow Amanda on – Amanda’s blogTwitter Facebook

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be fabulous πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.