After She’s Gone by Camilla Grebe @ReadersFirst1 #review

I am delighted to be sharing my review for After She’s Gone by Camilla Grebe. I was fortunate to be chosen as a winner by Readers First to receive a hardback copy of this book. Published by Zaffre on 21/03/19

So why don’t you have a look and see what it’s all about…

For psychological profiler Hanne Lagerlind-Schön, life is good. She and her partner, investigator Peter Lindgren, have just returned from a dream holiday in Greenland and the symptoms of her early onset dementia seem to be under control.

Then they are asked to go to the small, sleepy industrial town of Ormberg to investigate a cold case: ten years earlier a five-year-old girl’s remains were found in a cairn near the town.

With her dementia creeping back again, Hanne starts to keep a diary noting down everything she is likely to forget. She will go to any lengths to keep up appearances so she doesn’t lose her job, or worse: Peter.

Then Hanne is found wandering around the outskirts of Ormberg lost, hurt and confused – and Peter is missing. When the body of a woman is found at the cairn and one of Hanne’s shoes is found nearby covered in the victim’s blood, can Hanne’s diary hold the key to what happened? How does this new murder connect to their old one – and where is Peter?

SHE HOLDS THE KEY TO A MURDER – SHE JUST DOESN’T REMEMBER . . . Following on from the success if The Ice Beneath Her, Camilla Grebe’s latest thriller is perfect for fans of Camillla Lackberg and Will Dean’s Dark Pines.

This story is set in a fictional town in an out of the way area of Sweden. An old case is reopened and two specialist investigators are brought in to help… they go missing…

This is a slower paced Scandi Noir that took me a few chapters to get into, and if I am being honest, this is something that I kind of expect to a certain extent with noirish reads.

It is told in quickish chapters that alternate between three main characters, Malin, Hanne and Jake. Each is very different and bring a unique story of their own with them.

Once I got a feel for the writing and also the story I started to enjoy it more than when I started, The author builds up a good sense of mistrust in the isolated community and neighbouring refugees.

The story has a certain bleakness to it, a struggling community living on the edge after the main employer has closed down leaving people out of work. There are hostilities towards the refugees who have moved into the area and are seen as being special treatment as they are given housing and support. It is a scene that has been dealt with in a way as to express the feelings of those who are struggling to exist without work against people who have just survived to escape their own countries. This is set against a harsh and unforgiving setting that I felt sort of mirrored the people.

The story had a good amount of setting up, getting to know the characters, the basics of the plot and building up the scenery as well as the scene. I think this added to the initial slower pace, though it did increase as things started to fall into place.

This is a book that I think is more suited to readers of Noir Fiction or those who prefer a slower paced crime and suspense story. There are human interest aspects that are revealed as the story progresses and heads towards its conclusion. I am looking forward to reading more by this author.

It is one I would recommend.

Thumb
Image and Bio taken from Readers First Website.

Camilla Grebe was born near Stockholm. She has written four celebrated crime novels with her sister, Åsa Träff, about psychologist Siri Bergman, the first two of which were nominated for Swedish Crime Novel of the Year. Camilla has also written the popular Moscow Noir trilogy with Paul Leander-Engström. The Ice Beneath Her is Camilla’s debut novel as a solo author and announces hers as a fresh new voice in suspense writing.

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be great 🙂 xx

2 thoughts on “After She’s Gone by Camilla Grebe @ReadersFirst1 #review

Comments are closed.