The Note by Andrew Barrett @AndrewBarrettUK @sarahhardy681 @Bloodhoundbook

35304534_10155634094126623_3265394834067685376_n

I am delighted to be sharing my thought today on “The Note” by Andrew Barrett as part of the blog blitz with Sarah Hardy at Bloodhound Books. My thanks to Sarah and the author for my spot on the tour and my e-copy of the book. You can buy this book at Amazon UK

Synopsis:

A thrilling novella introducing Eddie Collins, CSI

Have you ever had that feeling of being watched but when you turn around no ones there?

I have.

It was raining, and I was working a murder scene around midnight when that prickle ran up my spine. If I’d listened to that feeling, if I’d thought back to my past, maybe I could have prevented the terror that was to come.

Back at the office, I found a death threat on my desk.

I had no idea who sent it or why they wanted to kill me.

But I was about to find out.

I’m Eddie Collins, a CSI, and this is my story.

Andrew Barrett is the best-selling author of The End of Lies. This novella serves as a thrilling introduction to his Eddie Collins Series. It will appeal to fans of authors like Ian Rankin, Robert Bryndza and Kathy Reichs.

My Thoughts:

This is a novella that is told from the perspective of Eddie Collins and we meet him as he is at a crime scene.

Being a short story the author has managed to pack a real punch. This is another new to me author and it is great to read a book that is the start of a new series.

So impressions for me on this novella was that Eddies is intense, I mean really intense with his work ethic as a police officer tries to hurry Eddie up. A crime scene has to be preserved and all evidence to be collected and this is exactly what Eddie does. He takes no nonsense and comes across as also quite angry.

Now Eddie is still an enigma for me, a novella doesn’t give you more that a snap shot of a character, I have mentioned my first impressions of him but also as I read the book I did discover something else. He is not really a people person, he keeps to himself at work, doesn’t seem to mix with others and lives in an isolated area. This has really piqued my interest as to how this character is going to pan out in a future series, he seems dark, focused, moody and also a professional hmmmmm i am intrigued.

The plot moves along quickly, as you would expect for this short format, but does have quite a few interesting elements that definitely kept me hooked.

This is a great introduction for a new series that has left me wanting more. I owuld recommend this to readers who like their crime based on a CSI perspective. One I would definitely recommend.

About the Author:

download

Biography

Do you like your crime thrillers to have a forensic element that adds to the realism? Do you like your lead character to be someone intense and unafraid to take on authority?

Andrew writes precisely that kind of crime thriller, and has done since 1996, about the same time he became a CSI in Yorkshire.

He doesn’t write formulaic fiction; each story is hand-crafted to give you a unique flavour of what CSIs encounter in real life – and as a practising CSI, he should know what it’s like out there. His thrillers live inside the police domain, but predominantly feature CSIs (or SOCOs as they used to known).

Here’s your chance to walk alongside SOCO Roger Conniston and CSI Eddie Collins as they do battle with the criminals that you lock your doors to keep out, fighting those whose crimes make you shudder.

This is as real as it gets without getting your hands bloody.

Find out more about him at https://www.andrewbarrett.co.uk where you can sign up for his newsletter and claim your free starter library.

See what other think by following the tour

B L O G B L I T Z (4).jpg

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or share would be amazing 🙂 xx