#BookReview : Headland by Ged Gillmore @gedgillmore : deGrevilo Publishing @OliSands

Today I have my thoughts on  “Headland” by Ged Gilmore. This came to me via Oliver at deGrevilo Publishing a small Indie Publisher in Sydney Australia. My thanks to Oliver for my eBook and also for introducing me to another author. My thoughts are my own and unbiased. You can get a copy either in paperback or eBook format at Amazon UK or Amazon Au.

Synopsis:

Murdoch’s doing just fine, thanks for not asking. He’s dealing drugs for a professional crime syndicate in Sydney and saving for a house by the sea. But what does he think life is, a fairy tale?

As the syndicate puts pressure on him to fill the shoes of his murdered boss, Murdoch is cornered by an equally formidable foe: the Australian Tax Office demanding an explanation for his sizeable cash income.

Murdoch spins a beautiful lie, telling tax inspector, Hannah Simms, he’s a private detective. When Simms asks him to investigate the mystery of her niece’s disappearance, Murdoch grabs what he thinks is a golden opportunity to outrun the syndicate. But his arrival in the missing girl’s small coastal home town causes an unexpected stir and the reluctant PI soon realises his troubles are only just beginning.

HEADLAND is noir crime at its best, a thriller to keep you guessing until the very end. 

** THIS IS NOT THE AUSTRALIA YOU’VE SEEN ADVERTISED ** 

HEADLAND is the first book in the Bill Murdoch Mystery series. It is perfect for fans of Peter TempleJane HarperGarry Disher, and Alan Furst

Bad-boy-turned-local-hero, Bill Murdoch, returns for more noir mysteries in the sequels CLASS ACT, and BASE NATURE. (Both coming early 2018) 

My Thoughts:

Bill Murdoch is a drug dealer who is trying to evade his boss as well as the Australian Tax Office. All he wants to do is live a quiet life with his own house and car by the sea. After a lie to the tax office he finds himself looking into  a cold case of a missing girl in a small coastal town.

This is a definite off the beaten track of the stereotypical that I have of the Australian lifestyle. The reader is taken into the other side of life, into the more off the beaten track and into a community setting. The first section of the book deals with Bill in Sydney and is good but then the author takes us to a wonderfully descriptive setting with the next section as he Bill deals with the missing person. This I really loved, a definite feeling of noir as the atmospheric and descriptive passages give some really good and vivid imagery.

This is a slow burner and as the story unfolds it slowly took a grip on me, intriguing to start and then curiosity taking over to see where it was going and then to be totally addicted to discover the outcome. The characters didn’t take long to get used to and soon became familiar. I really liked the dynamics between Bill and his “sidekick” as their relationship changed over the course of the book, or actually as Bill’s attitude changed. He is not your usual lead in a story, he is a rude, wiry, closed off and almost cocky character who I didn’t immediately take a liking to, but found myself warming to as the story went on.

I found myself quite surprised by the different routes that the author took, in a good way I might add, and how the author drew me into the story. A story that deals with a community and the way it works, there are no secrets and everybody knows your business.

This is a book that would appeal to readers who like a slower paced crime, mystery and thriller style read. An Australian Noir that I would definitely recommend and a series that I will be reading more of.

About the Author:

61ZJpYz8ktL._UX250_ Ged Gillmore completed degrees in languages and literature at the University of London, but fancying a change to sunnier climes, made the leap to Sydney in early 2004. When he’s not falling off his surfboard at Bondi or dabbling with a day job which pays the bills he sits at his laptop and bashes out fiction. Headland, Class Act, and Base Nature are the first three books in Ged’s ‘Bill Murdoch Mystery’ series, set in Sydney and the Central Coast of New South Wales.

Follow or visit Ged at ~ Amazon Author Page ~ WebsiteTwitter

Many thanks for taking the time to read my post, a share or a like would be brilliant 🙂 xx