#BookReview : Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson translated by Maxim Jacubowski @JoGustawsson : @OrendaBooks

5144MS0cjBL.jpg

Today I have my thoughts on “Block 46” by Johana Gustawsson and translated by Maxim Jacubowski. Published by Orenda Books and available in various formats from Amazon Uk and other book sellers.

Synopsis:

Falkenberg, Sweden. The mutilated body of talented young jewellery designer, Linnea Blix, is found in a snow-swept marina. Hampstead Heath, London. The body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea’s. Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Hebner will do anything to see himself as a human again. Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald? Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea’s friend, French true-crime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past, as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light. Plumbing the darkness and the horrific evidence of the nature of evil, Block 46 is a multi-layered, sweeping and evocative thriller that heralds a stunning new voice in French Noir. 

WINNER: Nouvelle Plume D’Argent 2016 
For fans of The Missing, Dominique Manotti, Camilla Lackberg, Stieg Larsson

My Thoughts:

The body of Linnéa Blix is found in Falkberg, Sweden the wounds are similar to the body of a young boy found in London. Are the two connected, if so how? Running within this stroy is that of a Prisoner of War from the Buchenwald Concentration Camp his story runs from arriving at the camp through the years of his life. It will take the on loan Canadian Royal Mounted Police Profiler Emily Roy to try and find the pieces to this intense puzzle with French True Crime Writer Alexis Castells.

First of all, if you have not read this book then you need to take yourself off right this moment and get a copy.  If you have read this book, then why the hell didn’t you demand I read it?  This book has a time slip element to it and the author has done such a fantastic job bring the past up to date within this deeply tense, suspense filled thriller.

So what to say about this book without giving anything away? The depth of the plot is as creative as it is chilling, as the author relates and weaves several stories together in quick snappy chapters.  It is told from the perspective of key characters to give different opinions and viewpoints giving the reader a much bigger picture. The descriptions of the camp conditions and practices are detailed enough to allow the evil nature of the place and of some people to be felt.  But the way the author has dealt with this topic has been done with sensitivity and respect.

As I said earlier there are several story lines and they are gradually and expertly drawn together, adding more suspense, intrigue and intensity as she brings you closer to the end. The end was jaw dropping, unexpected and to use a cliche “I really did not see that one coming”, or in fact the next one… absolutely knocked me sideways.

I am going to share few lines from the first page of this book and I hope you can see why I was immediately hooked :

“He picks up his spade, gathers earth and spreads it out in the hole. A single shovelful and the legs are already covered; all that sticks out are the toes. Toes as smooth as pebbles, as cold as ice, that make him want to touch them with the tips of his fingers.”

So if you are a reader who likes suspense, crime, thriller, mystery reads that are hard hitting, strongly written, totally absorbing, addictive, brutal, outstanding read then you MUST READ this book.

About the Author:

Born in 1978 in Marseille and with a degree in political science, Johana Gustawsson has worked as a journalist for the French press and television. She married a Swede and now lives in London. She was the co-author of a bestseller, On se retrouvera, published by Fayard Noir in France, whose television adaptation drew over 7 million viewers in June 2015. She is working on the next book in the Roy & Castells series.

Follow Johana on :  Twitter ~ or Website

Many thanks for reading my post, a like or a share would be amazing 🙂 xx

6 thoughts on “#BookReview : Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson translated by Maxim Jacubowski @JoGustawsson : @OrendaBooks

  1. I really liked this book – I’m not usually a fan of police procedural/crime, but I’d read how good this book was on Swirl and Thread blog, so I gave it a try; you’re right!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.