#BlogBlitz : White is the Coldest Colour by John Nicholl @Bloodhoundbook @sarahhardy681

51N6EBw7QVL

I am sharing my thoughts with you for “White is the Coldest Colour” by John Nicholl.  Published by Bloodhound Books and available HERE in paperback, eBook and audio formats.  My thanks to Sarah Hardy, Bloodhound and the author for my copy of this book.

Synopsis:

Are you looking for a dark and gripping psychological thriller? Then you’ll love White Is The Coldest Colour by #1 best-selling author John Nicholl.

Be careful who you trust…

The Mailer family is oblivious to the terrible danger that enters their lives when seven-year-old Anthony is referred to the child guidance service by the family GP, following the breakdown of his parents’ marriage.

Fifty-eight-year-old Dr David Galbraith, a sadistic, predatory paedophile, employed as a consultant child psychiatrist, has already murdered one child in the soundproofed cellar below the South Wales Georgian town-house he shares with his wife and two young daughters.

When Anthony becomes Galbraith’s latest obsession he will stop at nothing to make his grotesque fantasies reality.

But can Anthony be saved before it’s too late?

The book includes content that some readers may find disturbing from the start. It is dedicated to survivors everywhere.

What readers are saying:

‘One of the best psychological thrillers I’ve ever read.’ The Book Review Cafe

‘I confess to holding my breath as the conclusion drew near.’ Crimesquad.com

‘Nicholl is a superb storyteller; it is an art to write a book with such a violent and brutal plot line and conveying it without gratuitous details.’ Great Book Escapes

‘A masterfully written dark psychological thriller.’ Albina Hume – bestselling author

‘I don’t think that I’ve ever read a book that explores the darkness of the human mind and soul as well as White is the Coldest Colour. ’ Books, Movies and Wine Reviews.

‘One of the best psychological thrillers I’ve read!’ Carissa Backherms – bestselling author

‘I seriously was on the edge of my seat reading it.  I really do highly recommend his book.’ Cheekypee Reads and Reviews

‘Confident crime writing at its best. A must-read for lovers of very dark crime.’ Northern Crime

‘Some of the best writing I’ve read.’ Mark Tilbury – bestselling author

‘Absolutely brilliant.’ Relax and Read Book Reviews

‘The writing is fab. Intense and gripping. A hard-hitting, eye-opener of a book.’ Renita D’ Silva – bestselling author

‘A suspenseful eloquently worded page-turner.’ Angie Smith – bestselling author

‘I literally could not tap to the next page on my kindle quick enough.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘You don’t read this book, you experience it.’ Stella Marie Alden – bestselling author

‘I would very highly recommend this book.’ Readers Favorite

’The writing is superb. I was totally gripped.’ Read Along With Sue

‘Very cleverly plotted, well-developed characters, and disturbingly believable. The ending just blew my socks off. Highly recommended.’ Booklover Catlady Reviews

White Is The Coldest Colour is a dark and disturbing thriller, it will appeal to fans of authors like Joy Ellis, Mark Edwards, KL Slater and John Marrs.

My Thoughts:

Anthony Mailer is referred by his GP to see a child psychiatrist.  After the break up of his parents marriage, Anthony (7 years old) is having problems and feels guilty, thinking it is his fault that his mum and dad are no longer together.  Unfortunately he is referred to Dr Galbraith, a predatory paedophile who has gone under the radar for many years.  He uses his position and knowledge to undermine, manipulate and abuse the defenceless and the innocent.

Oh  wow! Oh dear god!  Bloody hell! How can you admit to loving a book so much when it has the most evil of subjects as its plot line, it feels so wrong to admit to it.  It is one of the most intensely twisted psychological reads I think I have read.  John has a background of being an ex police officer and child protection social worker and this experience gives such an extra dimension, edge and a truth to this story.  The way the agencies have to work, liaise and co-ordinate, the way protocols and working procedures are used adds extra factors. The plot is a mix of the Mailer Family, Police and Agency Workers, there is a paedophile ring and finally the character of Dr Galbraith.  I don’t think I have ever hated a character in a story as much as I have hated this one, he is smug, self-righteous, loathsome, evil and abhorrent, credit to John for making this character so believable as to evoke such anger, hatred and disgust.

The start of the story is disturbing, it is not easy reading and given the subject it shouldn’t be.  But John has crafted his writing in such a way that he has not glorified the details of events, he has used just enough words to give an indication.  It did not take long before I realised that this was a story I just could not put down. The way you are taken into the thoughts and lives of the characters is superb, and at times very scary.

It is a truth that this is based on things that happen a lot more than people realise.  It is often mentioned in the news that people are coming forward on a regular basis to report abuse to them, this may have happened in recent times but also a lot are now admitting what happened years and even decades ago.

Yes this is a shocking, disturbing, intense and shows the levels of psychological manipulation that are astounding.  It is also heartbreaking, at times frustrating and also verypowerful.  It shows how people can find the inner strength to change, challenge and stand up to atrocities.  This is a book that will stay in my thoughts for quite a long time, and I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND it to those who read very real psychological thrillers.

About the Author:

91LTM9AIN+L._SY200_John Nicholl, an ex-police officer, child protection social worker and lecturer, has written six darkly psychological suspense thrillers, each of which has been an Amazon bestseller. He reached # 10 of all books on Amazon in Australia and has been given four Amazon All-Star awards for being one of the most read authors in the UK and USA. John’s latest book, A Cold Cold Heart, was published by Bloodhound Books in January 2018.

John is always happy to hear from readers, bloggers or the media, and can be contacted via his author Website.

Rights enquiries should be directed to Toby Mundy – Literary agent at TMA
http://tma-agency.com

Many thanks for reading my post, if you liked it please give it a share.  Or go and grab a copy of this amazing book xx